Unofficial List of Candidates

Unofficial List of Candidates

 In Media Releases, Uncategorized

Iqaluit, Nunavut – November 4, 2022 – Notice is hereby given to the Members of the Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA) that the nomination period for the election of President and various Community Directors closed at 5 p.m. local time today.


The following candidates submitted nomination papers in accordance with QIA’s Election Rules and Procedures:


Olayuk Akesuk

Paul Okalik


Community Directors:


Clyde River

Inutiq Iqaqrialu

Mike Jaypoody

Billy Palluq

Neve Paniloo

Jaysie Tigullaraq



Peter Ivalu

Louis Tapardjuk



Steven Polee Lucassie

Madeline Redfern



Tommy Akavak – Acclaimed


Pond Inlet

Joshua Katsak

Katherina Lucy Pudluk



Moses Appaqaq

Davidee Qavvik



Solomon Allurut

David Curley

Priscilla Curley

Jopie Kaernerk

Mary Kuppaq

Abraham Qammaniq



Kinngait (by-election)

Martha Jaw

Adamie Nuna

Pitseolak Padluq

Ejetsiak Zeke Ejetsiak


All positions carry a four-year term, except for the Community Director in Kinngait, which is a two-year term by-election to fill a vacancy. Candidates have until Monday, November 7, 2022 at 5 p.m. local time to withdraw their papers.


To be eligible to vote you must be an Inuk enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement, be at least 16 years old on December 12, 2022 and have regularly resided in the Qikiqtani Region for longer than one year.


For more information, please contact:



Monica Ell-Kanayuk

Chief Returning Officer

Tel: 867-222-5549



Nadia Ciccone

Office of the CRO

Ayaya Marketing and Communications

Tel: 867-979-1484






Recent Posts

Connect With Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Qikiqtani Inuit Association