QIA Awards Scholarships to Qikiqtani Inuit

QIA Awards Scholarships to Qikiqtani Inuit

 In Media Releases

QIA Awards Scholarships to Qikiqtani Inuit

Iqaluit, Nunavut, October 16, 2023 – The Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA) is pleased to announce that applicants for this year’s scholarships have been awarded for the 2023-2024 academic year.  Since 2016, QIA has awarded over 1.4 million dollars in annual scholarships.

Each year, QIA offers $205, 000 in scholarships to Qikiqtani Inuit.  Of this, $200,000 is distributed 80 scholarships at $2, 500 each awarded on a first come-first serve basis. These scholarships are awarded to students from the Qikiqtani Region who are pursuing post-secondary education.

QIA also awards the John Amagoalik scholarship, which is provided to one deserving post-secondary student entering a field that promotes Inuit language and culture.  This $5,000 scholarship honours the efforts of John Amagoalik towards the betterment of Inuit in Nunavut and more specifically Inuit in the Qikiqtani Region.

This year, the John Amagoalik scholarship was awarded to Kristy Kanayuk from Iqaluit.  Kristy is currently in her first Year taking the Inuit Studies Program at Nunavut Sivuniksavut.

QIA wishes the 2023-2024 scholarship recipients the best of luck in their post secondary education endeavours.


For more information, please contact:


Karen Flaherty

Director, Strategic Communications

Qikiqtani Inuit Association

(P) 867.975.8398 or toll-free 1.800.667.2742


Recent Posts

Connect With Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Qikiqtani Inuit Association