QIA congratulates MLAs elected in the Qikiqtani Region.

QIA congratulates MLAs elected in the Qikiqtani Region.

 In Media Releases

Iqaluit, Nunavut – October 27, 2021 – The Qikiqtani Inuit Association congratulates all the MLAs elected within the region last night.

 “QIA looks forward to working with all the new and re-elected MLAs,” says QIA President, Olayuk Akesuk, “The vision of a bright future for Nunavut requires the ongoing cooperation of Regional Inuit Organizations and the Government of Nunavut, we anticipate building on the strong partnership we have formed with previous governments.”

QIA would also like to congratulate former President P.J. Akeeagok on his election. We anticipate the good work he will continue to do for Qikiqtani Inuit and the territory.

The Qikiqtani Region elected or acclaimed 12 MLA’s from Grise Fiord to Sanikiluaq. The Legislative Assembly of Nunavut will reconvene in November to elect a Premier and members of the cabinet.

For more information, please contact:

William Hopkins,
Acting Director of Communications,
Qikiqtani Inuit Association

Recent Posts

Connect With Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Qikiqtani Inuit Association