Official Notice of By-Election December 16, 2019 – Sanikiluaq

Official Notice of By-Election December 16, 2019 – Sanikiluaq

 In Media Releases

Notice is hereby given to the voting members of the Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA) that a by-election will be held on January 20, 2020 in Sanikiluaq for the position of Community Director.

The unofficial list of Candidates is as follows:



Mick Appaqaq

Moses Appaqaq

Joe Arragutainaq

Elijassie Kavik

Lucy Uppik


Candidates have until December 19, at 5pm local time to withdraw their nomination. An official list will then be issued.

To be eligible to vote you must be a Canadian citizen, at least 16 years old on Election Day, an Inuk registered with Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. and permanently residing in Sanikiluaq.

Polling stations will be open from 10am to 7pm local time on January 13, 2020 for advance polls and January 20, 2020, election day.


Sanikiluaq Polling Station: Hamlet Chambers


Proxy forms are available at, your local QIA Community Liaison Officer or from the contacts below:


Paul Okalik

Chief Returning Officer (CRO)

Tel: 867.222.5549



Nadia Ciccone

Office of the CRO

Tel: 867.979.1484


Recommended Posts

Connect With Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Qikiqtani Inuit Association