Recount Complete for Secretary Treasurer Election

Date: 1/3/2013

Joe Attagutaaluk remains elected with a total of 1,586 votes while Paul Irngaut bumped up to 1,575.

“The difference in the result of this recount is a combination of some miscounting and the fact that there were more spoiled ballots than what was originally counted,” said Chief Returning Officer Navarana Beveridge.

During the recount, each candidate was represented by a witness to scrutinize the process. All the issues with ballots and votes were identified and discussed with each representative to allow for a fair and unbiased recount and both parties had to agree on any disputes.

The recount was requested in mid-December following the QIA Elections after the results showed that Attagutaaluk won with 1,609 votes over Irngaut who originally had 1,559 - a margin of 50 votes.

The recount could not occur until the ballots arrived to Iqaluit from all Qikiqtani communities as well as ballots from Ottawa. Shipping issues coupled with weather delayed the arrival of ballots via air cargo.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact:

Navarana Beveridge
Chief Returning Officer
Tel: (867) 975-8400
Fax: (867) 979-3238